The place for fans of Canadian University Football

A Brief Introduction

Origins of the Game

Central Canada
- CIRFU 1898-1914
- Post WWI 1919-39
- Post WWII 1946-54
- A New Era 1955-66
- Ontario & Quebec 1967-79
- Ontario & Quebec 1980-

Western Canada
- WIRFU 1927-58
- WIFL 1959-1971
- CWUAA 1972-1998
- CW 1999-Present

Atlantic Canada
- Nova Scotia 1940-57
- NB and PEI 1948-57
- Atlantic Canada 1958-73
- AUFC 1974-Present

National and Regional Championships
- Introduction
- Churchill Bowl 1953-1964
- Churchill Bowl 1965-2002
- Atlantic Bowl 1959-2001
- Mitchell Bowl 2002-Present
- Uteck Bowl 2003-Present
- Vanier Cup 1965-Present

Conference Membership
- Atlantic
- Ontario
- Quebec
- West


A History of Canadian University Football
By Robert E. Watkins, B.A., M.Sc., Ph.D. - revised May 2006

Post Second World War Era (SIFL/OQAA) 1946-1954

  • 1946 - play in the CIRFU resumed

  • The senior series was now called the Senior Intercollegiate Football League (SIFL)

  • In the late 1940s and early 1950s three university football conferences existed in Central Canada: the senior series (SIFL) and two conferences of the Intercollegiate Intermediate Football Union (IIFU), the South-Western Conference and the Ottawa-St. Lawrence Conference:
    • SIFL: McGill, Queen's, Toronto and Western;
    • IIFU South-Western Conference: McMaster University, OAC and Waterloo College plus the intermediate teams from Western and Toronto;
    • IIFU Ottawa-St. Lawrence (OSL) Conference: Bishop's University, Carleton University, Loyola College, Macdonald College, University of Ottawa, RMC, and St. Patrick's College plus the McGill seconds and the Queen's seconds.

  • 1952 - McMaster was admitted to the SIFL for a two-year trial period; their 1952 season was played as an exhibition series against the other members of the league, the games of the 1953 season counted in the league standings

  • 1953 - the OSL conference divided its football league into "A" and "B" divisions; although membership varied from year to year, the most frequent alignments were:
    • "A" Division: Carleton, Ottawa, Loyola (1953 to 1955), RMC firsts, St. Patrick's College (1953 and 1954), McGill seconds and Queen's seconds;
    • "B" Division: Bishop's, Collège Militaire Royal (CMR), Macdonald College, RMC seconds and St. Patrick's College (from 1955).

  • 1954 - the SIFL reverted to a four-team league for the 1954 season amidst much controversy over the league's decision to exclude McMaster from permanent membership; this decision is reported to have contributed substantially to the eventual breakup in 1955 of the Canadian Intercollegiate Athletic Union Central (CIAUC), the umbrella intercollegiate athletic organization for Central Canada which had been formed in 1906

©1998-2006 Robert E. Watkins, All Rights Reserved
- is a privately operated web site - Canadian Interuniversity Sport Football -