The place for fans of Canadian University Football

A Brief Introduction

Origins of the Game

Central Canada
- CIRFU 1898-1914
- Post WWI 1919-39
- Post WWII 1946-54
- A New Era 1955-66
- Ontario & Quebec 1967-79
- Ontario & Quebec 1980-

Western Canada
- WIRFU 1927-58
- WIFL 1959-1971
- CWUAA 1972-1998
- CW 1999-Present

Atlantic Canada
- Nova Scotia 1940-57
- NB and PEI 1948-57
- Atlantic Canada 1958-73
- AUFC 1974-Present

National and Regional Championships
- Introduction
- Churchill Bowl 1953-1964
- Churchill Bowl 1965-2002
- Atlantic Bowl 1959-2001
- Mitchell Bowl 2002-Present
- Uteck Bowl 2003-Present
- Vanier Cup 1965-Present

Conference Membership
- Atlantic
- Ontario
- Quebec
- West


A History of Canadian University Football
By Robert E. Watkins, B.A., M.Sc., Ph.D. - revised May 2006

Post First World War Era (CIRFU) 1919-1939

  • 1919 - play in the CIRFU resumed

  • 1929 - the University of Western Ontario, after playing in the intermediate series for several years following the First World War, joined McGill, Queen's and Toronto in the senior series; this series (league) would continue unchanged as far as participating schools until the 1952-53 season

  • 1930s - a typical alignment for the intermediate series, now known as the Intermediate Intercollegiate Football Union (IIFU, 1934), consisted of three divisions with the following membership:
    • West Division: OAC firsts, McMaster firsts and Western seconds;
    • Central Division: RMC firsts, Queen's seconds and Toronto seconds;
    • East Division: Bishop's firsts, Loyola College firsts and McGill seconds.

  • Other post-secondary institutions which may have played intermediate football in the IIFU at this time or earlier and which later became, or merged with, existing universities some time after the Second World War, include Assumption College (University of Windsor), Macdonald College (McGill University), St. Patrick's College (Carleton University) and Waterloo College (Waterloo Lutheran University and the University of Waterloo)

  • 1931 - the forward pass was incorporated into the rules of the intercollegiate game

  • 1934 - the CIRFU withdrew from competition for the national championship; Toronto had again won the Grey Cup in 1920, Queen's in 1922, 1923, and 1924 while the 1919 McGill Yates Cup team was considered a shoo-in for the Grey Cup but the school once more refused to play the game due to the pressure of studies

  • 1935 - the CIRFU junior series was discontinued; those schools which fielded junior teams (or thirds) beyond this point entered their teams in regional or local unions or community leagues

  • Play was again suspended in the CIRFU after completion of the 1939 season due to the war effort

©1998-2006 Robert E. Watkins, All Rights Reserved
- is a privately operated web site - Canadian Interuniversity Sport Football -