The place for fans of Canadian University Football

A Brief Introduction

Origins of the Game

Central Canada
- CIRFU 1898-1914
- Post WWI 1919-39
- Post WWII 1946-54
- A New Era 1955-66
- Ontario & Quebec 1967-79
- Ontario & Quebec 1980-

Western Canada
- WIRFU 1927-58
- WIFL 1959-1971
- CWUAA 1972-1998
- CW 1999-Present

Atlantic Canada
- Nova Scotia 1940-57
- NB and PEI 1948-57
- Atlantic Canada 1958-73
- AUFC 1974-Present

National and Regional Championships
- Introduction
- Churchill Bowl 1953-1964
- Churchill Bowl 1965-2002
- Atlantic Bowl 1959-2001
- Mitchell Bowl 2002-Present
- Uteck Bowl 2003-Present
- Vanier Cup 1965-Present

Conference Membership
- Atlantic
- Ontario
- Quebec
- West


A History of Canadian University Football
By Robert E. Watkins, B.A., M.Sc., Ph.D. - revised May 2006

University Football in Ontario and Quebec from 1967 to 1979

  • While team and league realignments continued for some time, this particular period is also noteworthy for the number of schools which dropped their football programs for various economic, competitive and/or philosophic reasons

  • Following completion of the 1966 season, St. Patrick's College and CMR withdrew from senior competition leaving the OSLAA Eastern Division with only two teams: Bishop's and Macdonald College; the CMR football program moved to junior varsity status while St. Patrick's College became a constituent college of Carleton University resulting in the merger of the two football programs

  • 1967 - for the 1967 season, the OIFC and the OSLAA football conferences merged to form the twelve-team Central Canada Intercollegiate Football Conference (CCIFC):
    • CCIFC: Bishop's, Carleton, Laurentian, Loyola, Macdonald College, McMaster, Montréal, OAC, RMC, Ottawa, Waterloo, WLU.

  • 1968 - McMaster and Waterloo withdrew from the CCIFC and joined the OQAA (the old SIFL) football conference, a significant development in that the membership of this conference, except for the years 1952-53 as noted above, had been an exclusive four-member body since 1929

  • 1968 - two new programs joined the CCIFC-- the University of Windsor and Sir George Williams University of Montreal--the CCIFC split into East and West divisions for the 1968 season:
    • OQAA: McGill, McMaster, Queen's, Toronto, Waterloo, and Western;
    • CCIFC East Division: Bishop's, Loyola, Macdonald College, Montréal, RMC and Sir George Williams;
    • CCIFC West Division: Carleton, the University of Guelph (formerly OAC), Laurentian, Ottawa, WLU and Windsor

  • 1969 - York University joined the CCIFC West Division after fielding a team in a non-intercollegiate league in 1968

  • 1971 - a second significant realignment of teams and leagues took place: the OQAA football conference and the CCIFC were folded into two football conferences structured along provincial intercollegiate athletic association lines--the Ontario University Athletic Association (OUAA) and the Quebec University Athletic Association (QUAA)

  • the OUAA football conference consisted of twelve teams divided into two sections and four divisions:
    • Eastern Section, Northern Division: Laurentian, Ottawa and York;
    • Eastern Section, Capital Division: Carleton, Queen's and Toronto;
    • Western Section, Central Division: Guelph, McMaster and WLU;
    • Western Section, West Division: Waterloo, Western and Windsor.

  • The QUAA football conference consisted of eleven teams divided into two sections, the Blue Division and the White Division:
    • Blue Division: Bishop's, Loyola, McGill, Montréal, RMC, and Sir George Williams;
    • White Division: CMR, Macdonald College, Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM), Université du Québec à Trois Rivières (UQTR) and Sherbrooke.

  • At the time of reorganization, four of the QUAA White Division programs were playing football at the junior varsity level only: CMR, UQAM, UQTR and Sherbrooke

  • Early 1970s - the administration of athletics at the francophone universities of Quebec underwent a major philosophic change at this time, emphasis was being placed on community involvement and intramural athletic activities as opposed to intercollegiate athletics (now considered somewhat elitist), this shift in emphasis effected all the major intercollegiate sport programs at these schools (e.g., basketball, football, hockey, soccer, volleyball, etc.)

  • 1971 - following the 1971 season, the decline in the number of universities football programs participating at the senior level began in earnest: Laurentian withdrew from the OUAA (mainly for competitive and economic reasons) briefly playing in the Northern Football Conference (NFC--a football conference primarily made up of community teams in North-Eastern Ontario) for two years (1972 and 1973) before finally disbanding the program; Montréal of the QUAA disbanded (philosophic reasons - see above); while RMC of the QUAA withdrew in order to participate in the short-lived Ontario (Community) College Athletic Association (OCAA) football conference

  • 1972 - following the 1972 season CMR, UQAM and Sir George Williams of the QUAA folded their football programs

  • 1973 - following the 1973 season in the QUAA, the football program at Macdonald College, a constituent college of McGill University, was merged with that of its parent institution and played under the McGill banner, Sherbrooke disbanded its program while UQTR stepped down from senior level football to play at the junior varsity level leaving the conference with only three participating schools for the next season: Bishop's, Loyola, and McGill

  • 1974 - consequently a third major conference realignment took place in time for the 1974 season, the OUAA and QUAA football conferences were folded into the Ontario-Quebec Intercollegiate Football Conference (OQIFC) consisting of two divisions:
    • OQIFC West Division: Guelph, WLU (now Wilfrid Laurier University, formerly Waterloo Lutheran University), McMaster, Waterloo, Western, Windsor and York;
    • OQIFC East Division: Bishop's, Carleton, Concordia University (created by an amalgamation of Loyola College and Sir George Williams University in 1974), McGill, Ottawa, Queen's and Toronto.

  • 1976 - for this and subsequent years, Toronto transferred from the OQIFC East Division to the OQIFC West Division

  • 1977 - UQTR re-established its senior football program and joined the OQIFC East

  • Resulting OQIFC alignment:
    • West Division: Guelph, Laurier, McMaster, Toronto, Waterloo, Western, Windsor and York;
    • East Division: Bishop's, Carleton, Concordia, McGill, Ottawa, Queen's and UQTR.

  • 1979 - following this season, UQTR of the OQIFC East Division ceased football operations

  • 1974 to 1978 (inclusive) - the historic Yates Cup was awarded jointly to the winners of the OQIFC East and West Divisions

  • 1979 - Queen's of the OQIFC East and Western of the OQIFC West met in one of the semi-final bowl games on the road to the Vanier Cup, league officials decided that the winner of the match would also be awarded the Yates Cup, Western prevailed 32-14 and laid sole claim to the Cup for that year

©1998-2006 Robert E. Watkins, All Rights Reserved
- is a privately operated web site - Canadian Interuniversity Sport Football -