The place for fans of Canadian University Football

A Brief Introduction

Origins of the Game

Central Canada
- CIRFU 1898-1914
- Post WWI 1919-39
- Post WWII 1946-54
- A New Era 1955-66
- Ontario & Quebec 1967-79
- Ontario & Quebec 1980-

Western Canada
- WIRFU 1927-58
- WIFL 1959-1971
- CWUAA 1972-1998
- CW 1999-Present

Atlantic Canada
- Nova Scotia 1940-57
- NB and PEI 1948-57
- Atlantic Canada 1958-73
- AUFC 1974-Present

National and Regional Championships
- Introduction
- Churchill Bowl 1953-1964
- Churchill Bowl 1965-2002
- Atlantic Bowl 1959-2001
- Mitchell Bowl 2002-Present
- Uteck Bowl 2003-Present
- Vanier Cup 1965-Present

Conference Membership
- Atlantic
- Ontario
- Quebec
- West


A History of Canadian University Football
By Robert E. Watkins, B.A., M.Sc., Ph.D. - revised May 2006

National and Regional Championships

Vanier Cup 1965 to the Present

  • 1965-1966 - an invitational national championship was inaugurated by the Canadian Interuniversity Athletic Union (CIAU)--the Canadian College Bowl--the winner to receive a new trophy donated by Georges Vanier, the Governor General of Canada, and named the Vanier Cup; the winners of the five existing university football conferences (AUFC, OSLAA, OIFC, OQAA and WIFL) were eligible for selection as contestants in the championship game

  • 1967 - the Canadian College Bowl potentially became a national championship game with the winners of the now four university football conferences (i.e., AUFC, CCIFC, OQAA and WIFL) meeting in two semi-final games--the Atlantic Bowl and what was eventually to become known as the Churchill Bowl--for the right to compete for the Vanier Cup

  • 1967 - while an Atlantic Bowl game was played in 1967, the other bowl game did not take place as Toronto (the Yates Cup winner) was unable to participate due to a league (SIFL) ruling preventing SIFL representation in post-season play presumably because of scheduling problems and academic (exam) pressures thus allowing the Hardy Trophy winner (Alberta) to advance directly to the Vanier Cup game against the winner of the Atlantic Bowl (McMaster)

  • 1968 - the Vanier Cup truly became a national university football championship; both of the semi-final bowl games were played thus ensuring that the two best football teams in the country (Queen's, the Churchill Bowl champion and WLU, the Atlantic Bowl winner) participated in the Vanier Cup game and that the winner of the game (Queen's), could truly be called the national championship team of Canadian university football

  • 1982 - the name of the national championship game was changed from the Canadian College Bowl to the Vanier Cup, Canada's University Football Championship

  • 1983 - Calgary (the Hardy Trophy winner) advanced directly to the Vanier Cup game against the winner of the Churchill Bowl (Queen's) because of a dispute between the CIAU and the AUAA over the venue of the Atlantic Bowl; an Atlantic Bowl game was played featuring two teams from the AUAA football conference, however, the winner (StFX) did not advance to the Vanier Cup; the Atlantic Bowl was re-established as a semi-final bowl game for the 1984 season; two semi-final bowl games have been played every year since thus rendering the Vanier Cup game, once again, truly the national championship game

  • 2001 - the CIAU, the national umbrella governing body of Canadian university sport (including football) was renamed and became Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS)

©1998-2006 Robert E. Watkins, All Rights Reserved
- is a privately operated web site - Canadian Interuniversity Sport Football -