The place for fans of Canadian University Football

A Brief Introduction

Origins of the Game

Central Canada
- CIRFU 1898-1914
- Post WWI 1919-39
- Post WWII 1946-54
- A New Era 1955-66
- Ontario & Quebec 1967-79
- Ontario & Quebec 1980-

Western Canada
- WIRFU 1927-58
- WIFL 1959-1971
- CWUAA 1972-1998
- CW 1999-Present

Atlantic Canada
- Nova Scotia 1940-57
- NB and PEI 1948-57
- Atlantic Canada 1958-73
- AUFC 1974-Present

National and Regional Championships
- Introduction
- Churchill Bowl 1953-1964
- Churchill Bowl 1965-2002
- Atlantic Bowl 1959-2001
- Mitchell Bowl 2002-Present
- Uteck Bowl 2003-Present
- Vanier Cup 1965-Present

Conference Membership
- Atlantic
- Ontario
- Quebec
- West


A History of Canadian University Football
By Robert E. Watkins, B.A., M.Sc., Ph.D. - revised May 2006

National and Regional Championships


  • Prior to 1953 - no record of post-season intercollegiate, inter-league play at the senior level; furthermore, there was no national umbrella organization for the governance of interuniversity sport (including football) in Canada under whose auspices a national championship game could be organized and played; it was not until 1961, with the formation of the Canadian Interuniversity Athletic Union (CIAU) that such a national body whose membership consisted of the various regional intercollegiate athletics associations across the country, came into being

  • 1947-1964 - inter-league invitational and challenge matches, either pre-season or post-season, did occur on a somewhat hit-and-miss basis during this pre-College Bowl/Vanier Cup period

  • 1965 - the Canadian College Bowl (for the Vanier Cup), a national invitational championship for Canadian university football, was established; winners of the five existing university football conferences (AUFC, OSLAA, OIFC, OQAA and WIFL) were eligible for selection as contestants in the championship game

  • 1968 - a truly national intercollegiate football championship game did not occur until this year when the champions of the now four existing football conferences (AUFC, CCIFC, OQAA and WIFL) met in two semi-final bowl games with the winners advancing to the Vanier Cup game

    Following is a brief run-down of the history of these events

©1998-2006 Robert E. Watkins, All Rights Reserved
- is a privately operated web site - Canadian Interuniversity Sport Football -