The place for fans of Canadian University Football

A Brief Introduction

Origins of the Game

Central Canada
- CIRFU 1898-1914
- Post WWI 1919-39
- Post WWII 1946-54
- A New Era 1955-66
- Ontario & Quebec 1967-79
- Ontario & Quebec 1980-

Western Canada
- WIRFU 1927-58
- WIFL 1959-1971
- CWUAA 1972-1998
- CW 1999-Present

Atlantic Canada
- Nova Scotia 1940-57
- NB and PEI 1948-57
- Atlantic Canada 1958-73
- AUFC 1974-Present

National and Regional Championships
- Introduction
- Churchill Bowl 1953-1964
- Churchill Bowl 1965-2002
- Atlantic Bowl 1959-2001
- Mitchell Bowl 2002-Present
- Uteck Bowl 2003-Present
- Vanier Cup 1965-Present

Conference Membership
- Atlantic
- Ontario
- Quebec
- West


A History of Canadian University Football
By Robert E. Watkins, B.A., M.Sc., Ph.D. - revised May 2006

Conference Membership - Quebec

Quebec Student Sport Federation (QSSF)

In 1988, the governing body of university sport in Quebec, the Quebec Universities Athletic Association (QUAA), became part of the QSSF which assumed responsibility for all levels of scholastic sport in the province--secondary, CEGEP and university.

As noted above, much of the earlier history of Quebec university football has been included in the Ontario section. However, when football conferences were structured along strictly provincial athletic association lines or where the majority of the teams in a conference were Quebec-based, these conferences are included here rather than elsewhere. The first such conference was the "B" Division of the OSL conference, later (in 1958) called the East Division of the OSLIAA conference.

OSL "B" Division/OSLIAA East Division
Bishop's University Gaiters1953 to 1966
Collège Militaire Royal1953-1957, 1965-1966
Loyola College Warriors1953 to 1962
Macdonald College Aggies1953 to 1966
St. Patrick's College11953 to 1966
1Amalagated with the Carleton University Ravens football program following the 1966 season.

Aside from McGill, which was a member of the CIRFU/SIFL/OQAA from 1898-1970 and those noted immediately above as participating in the OSL/OSLIAA, all other Quebec-based varsity football programs existing at the time participated in the OIFC which lasted until 1966. All but McGill participated in the CCIFC which existed from 1967 to 1970 (see Ontario section above for details).

The next solely based Quebec university football conference was the eleven-team Quebec University Athletic Association (QUAA) football conference which had a rather short-lived existence from 1971 to 1973.

Quebec Universities Athletic Association (QUAA)
Blue DivisionWhite Division
Bishop's Gaiters1971-1973Collège Militaire Royal1971-1972
Loyola Warriors1971-1973Macdonald College1971-1973
McGill Redmen1971-1973UQAM Citadens1971-1972
Montréal Carabins1971UQTR Patriotes1971-1973
RMC Redmen1971Sherbrooke Vert & Or1971-1973
SGW Georgians1971-1972  

From 1974 to 1979, following the collapse of the QUAA football conference after the 1973 season, Quebec-based university football programs competed in the East Division of the OQIFC (see Ontario section above). As a result of the reorganization and renaming of the West Division of the OQIFC in 1980, the OQIFC East Division became known simply as the OQIFC with no division appellation. Also, the new OQIFC now had a championship trophy of its own to play for--the Dunsmore Cup, donated by Robert (Bob) L. Dunsmore who, at the age of 93, was the oldest living Queen's football alumnus.

Ontario-Quebec Intercollegiate Football Conference (OQIFC)
Bishop's University Gaiters1980-2000
Carleton University Ravens1980-1998
Concordia University Stingers1980-2000
Université Laval Rouge et Or1996-2000
McGill University Redmen1980-2000
University of Ottawa Gees Gees1980-2000
Queen's University Golden Gaels1980-2000

Following the 2000 season, the University of Ottawa and Queen's University withdrew from the OQIFC in order to join the OUA football conference. As a result, in 2001 the OQIFC became simply the QSSF university football conference, more commonly known as the Quebec Intercollegiate Football Conference (QIFC) and latterly (2004) the Quebec University Football League (QUFL). The Dunsmore Cup continues to be emblematic of the conference championship.

Quebec Intercollegiate Football Conference (QIFC)
Bishop's University Gaiters2001-Present
Concordia University Stingers2001-Present
Université Laval Rouge et Or2001-Present
McGill University Redmen2001-Present
Université de Montréal Carabins2002-Present
Université de Sherbrooke Vert & Or2003-Present

©1998-2006 Robert E. Watkins, All Rights Reserved
- is a privately operated web site - Canadian Interuniversity Sport Football -